- Books

Scandal on Rincon Hill

Scandal on Rincon Hill Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life Tallman offers an entertaining mystery will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen Library Journal A body is found just blocks from attorney Sar

  • Title: Scandal on Rincon Hill
  • Author: Shirley Tallman
  • ISBN: 9780312386979
  • Page: 130
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen Library Journal A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolson s home on Rincon Hill Sarah is on the case, but 19th century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to t Bringing Victorian San Francisco to colorful life, Tallman offers an entertaining mystery will appeal to fans of Anne Perry and Rhys Bowen Library Journal A body is found just blocks from attorney Sarah Woolson s home on Rincon Hill Sarah is on the case, but 19th century San Francisco is soon thrown into a state of panic as a gruesome crime spree begins to take hold of the city.

    • Free Read [Manga Book] ß Scandal on Rincon Hill - by Shirley Tallman ✓
      130 Shirley Tallman
    • thumbnail Title: Free Read [Manga Book] ß Scandal on Rincon Hill - by Shirley Tallman ✓
      Posted by:Shirley Tallman
      Published :2019-01-01T06:39:30+00:00

    1 thought on “Scandal on Rincon Hill

    1. In the same feminist vein as Elizabeth Peters' Amelia Peabody Emerson and Laurie R. King's Mary Russell is Shirley Tallman's Sarah Woolson. Sarah is blessed with a family that understands her very masculine proclivities and her attempts at being a lady lawyer in an era where that just wasn't done. Set in turn-of-the-20th-century San Francisco, the story was beautifully written and had a lot of outstanding characters in it - and they were all 3-dimensional! The potential romances were well done a [...]

    2. I thoroughly enjoy this series set in 1880-1890's in San Francisco. Tallman weaves many tidbits of history into the story such as the rivalry between Isaac Kallock and Charles DeYoung that resulted in DeYoung shooting Kallock and Kallock surviving the gunshot. Then Kallock's son guns down DeYoung, the editor-in-chief of The San Francisco Chronicle. Again, Tallman exposes the hatred directed toward the Chinese and the distinct class levels. Other interesting topics are presented such as Charles D [...]

    3. First Sentence: The nightmare began early on the morning of Sunday, December 4.Sarah Woolson is only the third female attorney to be licensed in California and is struggling to get her private practice off the ground. A brutal murder occurs on Rincon Hill, near her home, followed shortly by a second murder. Neither victim had been robbed. Both had attended the same party. Two young, very recently immigrated Chinese men are arrested, Sarah’s former client, powerful tong leader Li Ying, hires he [...]

    4. I really enjoy these Sarah Woolson mysteries. The setting is great (San Francisco late 1800's). The mysteries are interesting. There is even a potential romance brewing and love triangle. I'm looking forward to the next book in the series. My only fear is that Sarah is going to take her career to the extreme and miss out on happiness she could have beyond just being a lawyer.

    5. Beat yet butThis has been my favorite of the series so far, probably because I'm a sucker for a love story. However, there are a few things I could just not overlook. One, the praise for prostitution. Not necessarily outright praise (the author skirted all around it!), but the author's pseudo-logical arguments in favor of it. I agree that the women who have to resort to that should not be shamed or blamed but NO. It is not some form of freedom or business to be admired! I hate this lie. It tries [...]

    6. I have to say that, after listening to 11 chapters, I don't find this book to be one of Shirley Tallman's better Sarah Woolson stories. The first 10 chapters are repetitive and the "independent spirit" that Sarah has chosen comes across as stupid and insipid. She comes across as completely unaware of her own feelings. The issue may be that I don't know enough about Victorian manners and expectations to judge her feelings adequately, but that whole aspect of the book is annoying me.Chapter 17 con [...]

    7. Sarah Woolson awakens to the pebbles hitting her bedroom window. It is Samuel, a good friend of Sarah’s brother, George Lewis. George is a crime reporter. He goes but the alias of Ian Fearless. This is because their father is the Honorable Horace T. Woolson. The judge despises reporters. There has been a body found, a few blocks away from their home. Sarah gets involved in the murder investigation. Someone is trying to cover up the murder. Sarah’s nose leads her to a brothel. Things are real [...]

    8. Sarah Woolson is an attorney in San Francisco in the 1880’s – one of only two in the entire state of California. She is drawn into investigating the similar murders in her own neighborhood of a botanist and a church deacon. When a pair of recent Chinese immigrants are arrested as convenient scapegoats, Sarah comes to their defense. The setting is the most interesting element of the story and I was immediately drawn in because the first victim was a professor (somewhat before my time) at my a [...]

    9. Sarah, the only female attorney in San Francisco in 1881 and one of two in all of California, has opened up shop but has a hard time making ends meet. No one is in a hurry to hire a woman lawyer even though she has helped solve several big name cases. Her heart is always willing to take on the oppressed and marginalized and she has the smarts and support to do it. She still lives in the family home and her father and three brothers are all successful in their chosen fields. Only her mother still [...]

    10. The weakest of the series so far. The storyline is just going here and there and there's never much of an investigation of the mystery, but a lot of more or less interesting personal stuff of Sarah and her family and friends. The solution and ending doesn't make much sense, but wasn't really a surprise either because it had to end somehow after all. Sarah doesn't do much about her clients either - she visits them in jail a couple of times and finally stumbles into the real murderer randomly.

    11. In "Scandal On Rincon Hill" murder has happened. Sara Woolson is caught up in murder. As a woman lawyer in 19th Century San Francisco, Sara has trouble just getting enough paying clients without getting caught up in mysteries she can't solve and with clients she can't seem to help due to the prevailing cultural and police prejudices. There is as much historical social commentary as there is murder mystery.

    12. A definite fun read. I like charcters that are smart and perhaps a bit bossy, but not perfect. I enjoyed the Christmas setting. The mystery wasn't much. For me that did not detract from the story as the characters ad descriptions more than made up for this lack. I would reccommend this book to anyone who would like to read a well told story that flows with memorable characters.

    13. An enchanting mystery set in San Francisco in days gone by. I enjoyed the page-turning suspense with a touch of romance and look forward to Ms. Tallman's next installment.

    14. Didn't see the solution to the mystery coming, which was kind of nice. Don't like the apparent resolution to the "triangle" but that WAS predictable

    15. saw a review in the Oregonian. It's a murder mystery (ew) but takes place in SF (yea), has romance (yea), and the author is from Eugene (yea).

    16. The story dragged, too much description of what characters wore, too much reviewing of the facts so far. I skimmed a lot of the text and almost abandoned the book several times.

    17. Not the best written book, but light entertainment. I enjoyed the historical references and the attempt at archaic slang, as well as capturing some of the challenges women faced in the late 1880's.

    18. Mystery romance and family the author draws you in the solution to the mystery was a serprise. The final chapter was anticlimactic. I recamend this novel.

    19. Another good Sarah Woolson mystery. Loved the continuing love triangle with Robert and Pierce! I can't decide who I like better.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *